South Asian KidLit

List covers books releasing in January thru February of 2022.

Winter  2022 - updated quarterly  - compiled by Darshana Khiani

"The books listed below are traditionally published and are either by a South Asian author or illustrator, contains a South Asian main character, or involve South Asian culture.

South Asia is a large and diverse region made of the following countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the region of Tibet. This area has a diverse array of languages and religions while remaining connected through art, dance, food, histories, and traditions.

Today’s South Asian children’s literature reflects this culture not only in folktale and historical stories but also in the modern day and into fantasy worlds as well. " - Darshana Khiana

 

Holi Hai! Cover Image
By Chitra Soundar, Darshika Varma (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780807533574
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - January 1st, 2022

Gauri is excited to splash colors on everyone for Holi. But when she doesn't get her favorite color, Gauri gets mad. Will she find a way to overcome her anger and join in the festivities?


Peacock and Sketch Cover Image
By Allan Peterkin, Sandhya Prabhat (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781433832796
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Magination Press - January 11th, 2022

This fun story about the highs and lows of media stardom is perfect for readers not yet ready for Charlotte's Web.

A gorgeous peacock hatches an escape from the zoo in search of fame, only to realize that it's not all that it's cracked up to be, and that instant stardom can be tough and beauty is more than feathers deep.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Bare Tree and Little Wind: A Story for Holy Week Cover Image
By Mitali Perkins, Khoa Le (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780593234877
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: WaterBrook - February 22nd, 2022

A lyrical, captivating retelling of the Palm Sunday and Easter story from National Book Award nominee Mitali Perkins, author of Rickshaw Girl, that is sure to become a beloved tradition for families of faith.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Dancing Devi Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781735031934
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: Modern Marigold Books - February 22nd, 2022

Devi knows that she's a good dancer. In fact, she's one of the best Bharatanatyam dancers at her dance school. So she's very upset when she learns she's lost the big dance competition. Her mom is a perfect dancer and Devi needs to be, too. Devi vows to practice her facial expressions and footwork until her dance is flawless, but no matter how much she practices, she keeps making mistakes.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Omar Rising Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593108581
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - February 1st, 2022

“Irresistibly appealing and genuinely inspiring—a story that helps us to see the world more clearly, and to see ourselves as powerful enough to change it.” —Rebecca Stead, author of Newbery Award Winner When You Reach Me


Pre-Order Now Badge
The View from the Very Best House in Town Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536219241
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: Walker Books US - February 8th, 2022

Part thriller, part friendship story, part real estate listing, this witty and inventive debut explores the nature of friendship and home.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Golden Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063044753
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: HarperCollins - February 22nd, 2022

From the award-winning, ALA Notable author of Unsettled and Lailah’s Lunchbox, this is a captivating coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what’s right isn’t always easy. For fans of


The Ivory Key (The Ivory Key Duology) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780358468332
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Clarion Books - January 4th, 2022

In this epic YA fantasy debut, magic, a prized resource, is the only thing between peace and war. When magic runs out, four estranged royal siblings must find a new source before their country is swallowed by invading forces.


Salaam, with Love Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593482629
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Underlined - January 4th, 2022

This heartfelt and humorous YA contemporary follows Dua, who spends the month of Ramadan making unexpected discoveries about family, faith, and first love.

"Beg beautifully crafts a comforting tale filled with fun characters and excellent Muslim representation.”--Aamna Qureshi, author of The Lady or the Lion


Pre-Order Now Badge
Sunny G's Series of Rash Decisions Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593109977
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: Dial Books - February 8th, 2022

“Pitch-perfect. One of the most endearing teen voices I’ve ever encountered.” —Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera comes a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen's search for love and identity.