Schneider Family Book Award 2021

The Schneider Family Book Awards recognize books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

All the Way to the Top: How One Girl's Fight for Americans with Disabilities Changed Everything Cover Image
By Annette Bay Pimentel, Jennifer Keelan-Chaffins (Foreword by), Nabi Ali (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492688976
Availability: Out of Stock in store and warehouse. Usually ships in 10-15 days.
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - March 10th, 2020

2021 Schneider Family Book Award Young Children's Honor Book (American Library Association)


Get a Grip, Vivy Cohen! Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525554189
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Dial Books - February 25th, 2020

In this perfectly pitched novel-in-letters, autistic eleven-year-old Vivy Cohen won't let anything stop her from playing baseball--not when she has a major-league star as her pen pal.

Vivy Cohen is determined. She's had enough of playing catch in the park. She's ready to pitch for a real baseball team.


I Talk Like a River Cover Image
By Jordan Scott, Sydney Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823445592
Availability: Out of Stock in store and warehouse. Usually ships in 10-15 days.
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 1st, 2020

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award
 
What if words got stuck in the back of your mouth whenever you tried to speak? What if they never came out the way you wanted them to?
 
Sometimes it takes a change of perspective to get the words flowing.

A New York Times Best Children's Book of the Year


Itzhak: A Boy Who Loved the Violin Cover Image
By Tracy Newman, Abigail Halpin (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419741104
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - May 12th, 2020

This picture-book biography of violin virtuoso Itzhak Perlman will inspire young readers to follow the melody within themselves

A 2021 Schneider Family Book Award Young Children Honor Book
 
Before becoming one of the greatest violinists of all time, Itzhak Perlman was simply a boy who loved music.


Show Me a Sign Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338255812
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Scholastic Press - March 3rd, 2020

∙NPR Best Books of 2020 ∙Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2020 ∙School Library Journal Best Books of 2020 ∙New York Public Library Best Books of 2020 ∙Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2020 ∙2020 Jane Addams Children’s Book Award Finalist ∙2020 New England Independent Booksellers Award Finalist

* "A must-read." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"More than just


This Is My Brain in Love Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780316423823
Availability: Out of Stock in store and warehouse. Usually ships in 10-15 days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 14th, 2020

Told in dual narrative, This Is My Brain in Love is a stunning YA contemporary romance, exploring mental health, race, and, ultimately self-acceptance, for fans of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter and Emergency Contact.

Jocelyn Wu has just three wishes for her junior year: To make it through without dying of boredom, to direct a short film with her BFF Priya V


When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$20.99
ISBN: 9780525553915
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

A National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.


 
 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
 

Reading Group Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.